Trump signs sanctions bill for oppressing Uighurs in China

Wednesday, 17 June, 2020 - 10:53

U.S. President Donald Trump signed on Wednesday a bill passed earlier by both houses of Congress allowing sanctions against Chinese officials who, according to Washington, harass Uyghurs and other Muslim groups in the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region (XUAR) of the PRC.  This is stated in a statement by the White House.
"On Wednesday, June 17, 2020, the president signed Act S. 3477 - The 2020 Uyghurs Human Rights Policy Act, which condemns the gross violations of the rights of certain ethnic groups of Muslim minorities in the XUAR in China and includes certain powers to impose  sanctions on specific foreign individuals, "the White House said.
In connection with the signing of the law, the president’s press service also issued a written statement to Trump: “However, I note that section 6 (g) of the law is aimed at restricting my discretion in lifting unacceptable sanctions. In some circumstances, this restriction may not be consistent  my constitutional authority to host some foreign officials as diplomatic representatives in accordance with Section II of Section 3 of the [US] Constitution. "  In this regard, the president continued, the Washington administration will consider this section of the law as "recommendatory and non-binding."  In this case, the authorities will "make appropriate efforts to comply with section 6 (g) of the law, notifying the relevant committees of the Congress on the termination of sanctions against persons subject to the law," the head of state explained.  "But [the administration] will not consider the requirement of a pre-notification clause as mandatory to the extent that it impedes the diplomatic efforts of the president," Trump concluded.