Serbia (the Republic of Serbia)


Total boundaries: 2,364.4 km.

Border countries: Romania 546.5 km, Bulgaria 367.1 km, Macedonia 282.9 km, Montenegro 249.5 km, Albania 11.1 km, Bosnia and Herzegovina 370.9 km, Croatia 261.7 km, Hungary 174.4 km.

Serbia, officially the Republic of Serbia, the former core republic of Yugoslavia, is now a landlocked country in the central part of the Balkan Peninsula in Southeastern Europe. According to the Constitution and the Law on Territorial Organisation, the Republic of Serbia is a unitary state with two autonomous provinces, Vojvodina and Kosovo and Metohija. Serbia is bordered by Hungary to the north; Romania and Bulgaria to the east; Macedonia to the south; and Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and Montenegro to the southwest; it also shares borders with Albania through the disputed territory of Kosovo. The country occupies an area of 88,361sq km (including Kosovo and Metohija). The total population in Serbia (including Kosovo and Metohija) was estimated at 9.4 million people in 2015, according to UN data.

Geopolitical position:

Rimland. Now moderate Atlanticism;

60% Eurasianist, 40% Atlanticist;

Allies: The European Union and the United Nations members, Russia, Greece, China;

Opponents: States which have recognized Kosovo as an independent nation: the United States, Albania, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, France, Germany, Hungary, Turkey, Slovenia and the United Kingdom and etc.

Neutrality: The Czech Republic, Asia, the Middle East and North Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa.

Sphere of national interests: Southeast Europe, the Pannonian Plain and the central Balkans.