American democracy


Four members of the electoral college are fined for refusing to vote for Hillary Clinton.

Washington lobby

At the present moment, these penalties are applied only to the four electors from Washington.

They are ordered to pay a fine of one thousand dollars.

They have 60 days to pay this sum, otherwise, the state secretary of state office are going to court.

The system’s features

During the US presidential elections on November 8th, former US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton won 12 electoral votes in Washington state, but four of them refused to support her.

Three votes were given to former US Secretary of State Colin Powell, who was not involved in the elections. The representative of the Sioux people got another vote.

On December 19th the Electoral College voted for the US president. Donald Trump got 304 votes, while Hillary Clinton received only 227 votes.