The heads of the EAEU states gather in Kazakhstan

On May 31st, the Kazakh capital Astana will host a meeting the Supreme Council of the Eurasian Economic Union.

The geopolitical meaning of the EAEU

The Eurasian Economic Community includes 5 countries: Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia, and Kyrgyzstan.

The integration association aims to restore on a new basis the economic and political unity of the Eurasian Heartland, destroyed with the collapse of the Soviet Union. For Russia, the EAEU is a long-term priority of foreign policy, as Russia is strengthening as a leader of the Eurasian integration process. Without the cooperation and support of other members of the integration process, Russia will not be able to become a great Eurasian power.


The Supreme Council of the EAEU is formed by Heads of States of participating countries. It is expected that the leaders will discuss the prospects of forming common gas, oil, and oil products markets. Another issue on the agenda is the possibility of expanding trade and economic relations of associations with other countries and regional integration organizations. There are countries in BRICS, SCO, and ASEAN, and Serbia expressed an interest in the process of Eurasian integration. The issue of relations between the European Union and EAEU will not be bypassed.