Meeting of SCO heads of governments held in Bishkek


The two-day summit, which began yesterday, is dedicated to the development of cooperation between its members.

New agreements

During the summit, 10 documents are going to be signed which are very important for the development of multilateral cooperation within the organization.

Moreover, an agreement on the establishment of an SCO university was signed on November 2nd. This university will be a network of the higher educational institutions of the SCO states and will be united to strengthen cooperation in the implementation of joint educational programs and scientific and technical projects.

15 years of the organization

This meeting of the Council of Heads of Member States of the SCO will complete the official series of events connected with the 15th anniversary of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization, which is being marked this year.

The SCO consists of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Moreover, India and Pakistan signed memoranda of commitment to obtain membership in the SCO in July 2016.

Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, and Mongolia have observer status. Azerbaijan, Turkey, Sri Lanka, Armenia, Cambodia, and Nepal are dialogue partners.